Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Zora Neale Hurston's Hometown Legacy

Here's a video about our Featured Author, Zora Neale Hurston. This video tells of how she angered then saved her community of Eatonville, Florida.

The video and the above description is property of the New York Times.

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Zora Neale Hurston: Quotes and Facts

Below are some quotes and facts about our current Featured Author, Zora Neale Hurston.


 "There is no agony like bearing an untold story inside you."
- Zora Neale Hurston

"Love makes your soul crawl out from its hiding place."
- Zora Neale Hurston

  • She was an American author, folklorist, and anthropologist.
  • Her best known work is her novel "Their Eyes Were Watching God" in 1937.
  • She has published over 50 plays, essays, and short stories novels.
  • Her 1938 novel, "Tell My Horse," documents the practices, rituals, mysteries, and beliefs of Voodoo from her firsthand account after she visited Haiti in 1937.  
  • She was born in 1891 in Notasulga, Alabama, but her and her family moved to Eatonville, Florida when she was three years old.

Monday, October 15, 2018

New Featured Author

New Featured Author

Our new Featured Author is Zora Neale Hurston. You can check out a list of the books the library currently hold in the Featured Booklist to the right on our online catalog. Also, we will be posting facts, quotes, works, and/or more in the next two weeks.

Zora Neale Hurston

Born: 1891

Died: 1960

Birthplace: Notasulga, AL

Zora Hurston was a world-renowned writer and anthropologist. Hurston’s novels, short stories, and plays often depicted African American life in the South. Her work in anthropology examined black folklore. Hurston influenced many writers, forever cementing her place in history as one of the foremost female writers of the 20th century.

For more information about Ms. Hurston, checkout the following sites:

National Women's History Museum

Zora Neale Hurston's Website

*Note: Information above is courtesy the National Women's History Museum.

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

John Steinbeck: Works


The Long Valley:
First published in 1938, this volume of stories collected with the encouragement of his longtime editor Pascal Covici serves as a wonderful introduction to the work of Nobel Prize winner John Steinbeck. Set in the beautiful Salinas Valley of California, where simple people farm the land and struggle to find a place for themselves in the world, these stories reflect Steinbeck’s characteristic interests: the tensions between town and country, laborers and owners, past and present.

The Pearl:
“There it lay, the great pearl, perfect as the moon.”

      Like his father and grandfather before him, Kino is a poor diver, gathering pearls from the gulf beds that once brought great wealth to the Kings of Spain and now provide Kino, Juana, and their infant son with meager subsistence. Then, on a day like any other, Kino emerges from the sea with a pearl as large as a sea gull's egg, as "perfect as the moon." With the pearl comes hope, the promise of comfort and of security....

      A story of classic simplicity, based on a Mexican folk tale, The Pearl explores the secrets of man's nature, the darkest depths of evil, and the luminous possibilities of love.

The Red Pony:

      Raised on a ranch in northern California, Jody is well-schooled in the hard work and demands of a rancher’s life. He is used to the way of horses, too; but nothing has prepared him for the special connection he will forge with Gabilan, the hot-tempered pony his father gives him. With Billy Buck, the hired hand, Jody tends and trains his horse, restlessly anticipating the moment he will sit high upon Gabilan’s saddle. But when Gabilan falls ill, Jody discovers there are still lessons he must learn about the ways of nature and, particularly, the ways of man.

The Wayward Bus:

     In his first novel to follow the publication of his enormous success, The Grapes of Wrath, Steinbeck’s vision comes wonderfully to life in this imaginative and unsentimental chronicle of a bus traveling California’s back roads, transporting the lost and the lonely, the good and the greedy, the stupid and the scheming, the beautiful and the vicious away from their shattered dreams and, possibly, toward the promise of the future.

The Winter of Our Discontent:

     In awarding John Steinbeck the 1962 Nobel Prize in Literature, the Nobel committee stated that with The Winter of Our Discontent, he had “resumed his position as an independent expounder of the truth, with an unbiased instinct for what is genuinely American.” Ethan Allen Hawley, the protagonist of Steinbeck’s last novel, works as a clerk in a grocery store that his family once owned. With Ethan no longer a member of Long Island’s aristocratic class, his wife is restless, and his teenage children are hungry for the tantalizing material comforts he cannot provide. Then one day, in a moment of moral crisis, Ethan decides to take a holiday from his own scrupulous standards. Set in Steinbeck’s contemporary 1960 America, the novel explores the tenuous line between private and public honesty, and today ranks alongside his most acclaimed works of penetrating insight into the American condition.

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

More Interesting Facts About John Steinbeck

Here are some more interesting facts about our Featured Author, John Steinbeck.

  1. He moved to New York City briefly where he worked as a construction worker and reporter for a newspaper, but returned to California.
  2. He worked as a caretaker in Lake Tahoe and used his spare time to write his first novel titled Cup of Gold, which was published in 1929.
  3. He met Carol Henning around the same time as he wrote his first novel and they married.
  4. His success as a writer can when his novel Tortilla Flat was published in 1935.
  5. He covered World War II as a correspondent for the New York Herald Tribune.
Facts are from